May 28, 2013

  • He is Excited About His Plan

    I told my mom the other day that I wondered if God was disappointed that I didn’t already have Spanish mastered before I came to Guatemala….
    I’ve known for 21 years that God was going to send me to a Spanish speaking country. AND I lived in a 90% Spanish speaking town for 3.5 years before moving here. I could have learned it. I could have worked harder. Could have studied more…much more.

    My mom’s response to me was, “God already knew you were going to be at this level with your Spanish when you arrived.”

    I’ve been thinking about that statement off and on since then… “God already knew….”

    How many times do we think, without really thinking it, that we have really messed up God’s plan?
    How many moments do we want to give up because we feel like we have missed so many opportunities that even giving our best now will never make up for the half-effort we’ve given over and over in the past?
    How often do we feel deflated imagining God searching for someone else to be great in, because He can’t handle the fact that we just can’t seem to measure up?

    But it’s true :
    Yesterday God knew where you would be today.
    And guess what:
    He still has a plan for today.
    And He is just as excited about it.
    He did NOT give up on you and walk away.

    I started getting excited about this tonight.
    I asked Him as I was folding laundry,
    “Is this just me being too easy on myself – or are you really THAT merciful to be excited about a new plan for me EVERY DAY?
    And then His Word – you know the written one that you can’t doubt or wonder if you heard right,
    It came to my memory strong and true:

    “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. THEY ARE NEW EVERY MORNING; great is your faithfulness.” – Lamentations 3:22-23

    So let’s throw off our disappointment in ourselves and our mindsets that God has joined our disappointed pity party. And let’s rejoice in His faithfulness by waking up tomorrow morning full of joy and confidence that He has a plan for us. And that He’s excited about it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *